Early Years Foundation Stage
EYFS Statutory Framework
Developmental Folders
Special Educational Needs and Disability
Care and Education

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the current English curriculum for children aged from birth to the end of their first year at school.

It is broken down into four main themes:

A Unique Child
Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships
Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments
The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

Learning and Development
Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

Within this theme there are six areas of learning and development which we focus on when observing, assessing and planning for individual children. These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional
  • Communication, Language and Literacy
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development

For more information on these six areas of learning please see Early Years Foundation Stage.


Copyright 2012. By www.nurseryweb.co.uk.

HomeCare and EducationOur RoomsOpening hours and FeesContact Us